Sign in to follow this  
Seattleshrimp

Should I start with CRS or RCS ?

Seattleshrimp

Hi ! 

I live in Seattle where the water is incredibly soft and I have a tap water pH of 6.7, GH of 0-1 and KH 2. My existing tank with plants already has buffered substrate. Would I have better chance of keeping CRS than RCS with my current water parameters ? Or would RCS do okay? 

I do have an RO system already, and I could  remineralize my water with salty shrimp KH/GH+. Which would allow my GH and KH parameter to be okay for neocaridinas, but I already have a tank with active substrate. I’m 100% I don’t have space to set up another tank with inert substrate. 

Would do you recommend ? What are pH you have successfully kept neocaridinas and have them thriving ? 

Thanks ! I appreciate all the help as I am new to the hobby. 
  • Like 1

jayc

Hi @Seattleshrimp,

welcome to SKFA.

With that tap water and the fact that you have an RO system, and active substrate, you can try for CRS.

Both RCS and CRS would suit your water parameters. 

However, you would be constantly battling to keep the right parameters with Neo caridinas. 

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

Seattleshrimp

Hi Jayc, 

Thank you ! 

Yeah, I think CRS would be best suited for my current water parameter. I’m just debating whether if CRS are harder to keep  than RCS

Do people in the hobby refer CRS harder to keep in that the water parameters for caridinas are harder to achieve or the species itself is pickier than neos. 

Thanks ! 

• Like 1

jayc

CRS can be harder than Neos, but that's because people can't (or rather, "find it hard") to maintain water parameters around 6.5 - 6.6, with low GH and KH. Buy since your tap water is already there, it should be easy for you, theoretically. 

Just remember to use a dechlorinator. Avoid using Prime, as I find it to have too much formaldehyde, which can be a problem with shrimps.

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

Seattleshrimp