My 38 Litre first shrimp tank journal

jrc693

Hi everyone!

I posted this journal on another forum, but thought i could grab some expertise from shrimpers here too!

So im new to this hobby, thought I would share my experiences of this hobby so far with everyone so I can hopefully learn and also get some advice from more experienced shrimpers! I'd also like some more experienced people to aware me if I am currently doing the whole process correctly. I have been collecting bits and pieces with my spare money thats doesn't have to go towards uni for months in preparation for the two tanks that I will be creating (this shrimp tank and 3ft aquascaped tank (will journal that one in future))

For this tank I purchased a lot of second hand items from people around the community to thanks anyone that sold me something!

Anyways, my brother and I made a trip to Canley Vale nursery as I heard that they stocked some natural slate, which I heard was inert.

L0xBCl.jpgC1JJ6l.jpg

They had a few different types of rocks to choose from, they had the natural slate which i was looking for, had red slate and also had honey comb rocks (I think its called)

As I live about an hours drive from Canley Vale my brother and I decided that we will go all out in purchasing rocks as we dont want to make another trip back there too soon. If i can recall it was around $4-$6 a kilo can't remember how much exactly.

At home we have one of those high pressure spray guns so I gave the rocks a good clean. It really brought the colour out in some of the honeycomb rocks. I also have a 3 foot tank which im planning to do my first aquascape as well so thats why I grabbed the honeycomb rocks. My brother is also potentially going to do something aquarium related for his HSC so we bought extras. I also had some pieces of driftwood which i had purchased some time ago. I was worried they may break from the high pressure of the spray gun but they were really cleaned well from it.

ziFd1l.jpg