Custom Aqua One 620T

rawprawn

Picked this tank up locally for 150 bucks.

I'm hoping to keep yellow cherries and royal blue tigers together in it.

001_3.jpg

Don't like the filter in the hood or the lights either, so I'll go a bit custom and go for what I understand to be a low tech, medium/high light planted tank.

I've already got NZ black iron sand, an 800L/hr ebay cannister filter, and some ebay led flood lights.

I'm pretty new with this, but have a big background in technical fabrication.

Please feel very free to advise me.

Cheers,

First of all is the lighting hood.

I've got 2x 20W cool white 6500K LED floodlights.

I know this sounds bright, but I've read that with LED lights you need to go by lumens, not watts.

I found several articles stating that for a medium light tank you needed 35-50 lumens/L.

My tank is 130L (and 70cm deep), and I'll probably be around 100-110L with sand, etc in the tank.

So I need 3500-5000 lumens?? Seems a lot.

These lights are rated at 1600-1800 lumens each (120 deg spread), and knowing ebay product ratings they're probably 10-25% less in real life.

So I'm probably looking at anything from 2400 (1600x2-25%) to 3600 (1800x2) lumens.

Hard to tell with ebay stuff, but I found a couple of articles where they praised these lights highly.

I've stripped all the crappy and heavy flouro gear out (weighed a tonne), and 3D printed mounts that put the face of the light down flush with the bottom of the hood. One of the complaints I read more than once was that the flouros being recessed up in the hood cast serious shadows and greatly affected the performance of the lights.

I cut the bottom of a junction box out so it would fit, and so I could solder wires and keep the individual light switches for versatility.

I've got epoxy and silastic drying now, so that's it for tonight.

002_2.jpg

003_2.jpg

004_1.jpg

Edited by rawprawn
  • Like 4

Following with interest.