Sign in to follow this  
waffle

waffle's Amarinus Laevis

waffle

I've been avidly watching these little guys since receiving them yesterday, and I thought I'd make a new thread for the observations! Fist up some pics!large.DSC_0175.jpglarge.DSC_0170.jpglarge.DSC_0162.jpglarge.DSC_0158.jpglarge.DSC_0155.jpglarge.DSC_0152.jpglarge.DSC_0145.jpglarge.DSC_0135.jpg

Next, some interactions with shrimp. First up, a pair getting intimate (or failing to - looks like the male was just seeing if she was in the mood) while ignoring some nearby shrimp.

Next, a male getting territorial and chasing off a sunkist neo. Sorry about the lower quality - camera was set to low res accidentally. This movement is different from how they attack snails, so I think it's a territory issue rather than a hunting attempt. If you slow down the film you can see he raises his body and claws really high as though to look intimidating. But I'm not a crab expert so I dunno.

Next a shaky-cam quick-and-dirty video evidencing snail-eating prowess. Don't watch if you get motion sick!!

Next up, a rookie attempt at a close-up film. A bit shaky and focus is off, but you can see the female's cute face.

Edited by waffle
  • Like 6
  • Thanks 1

waffle

This video shows their normal behaviour around shrimp. Just completely ignoring them. A male walks past a group of shrimp having dinner.

The DAS in the video are adults. The Tangs just reached maturity a couple weeks ago so will probs get a bit bigger.

About half a dozen times I've seen them walk right through groups of shrimp without trying to eat them. This is including a group of shrimplets. That vid of the territorial lunge was the only sign of aggression I've seen.

In terms of food, so far I've seen them:

--> Eating a ton of snails.

--> Sifting through the substrate for morsels, with shrimp following and picking up the leftovers.

--> Chewing mulberry leaves.

--> Picking algae off moss.