Sign in to follow this  
Arkaedus

Shrimp Rack with partitions and shared water. Please help to do it

Arkaedus

Hi I am new with caridinas and I want to make a shrimp rack to keep them.

It would have four shelves and in each one of them would fit an aquarium of 82.5x29.5x15'5 and I want to divide it into two or three or four partitions that water communicate between them somehow but I do not know how to do it. Some suggestions to make the dives so that water is shared among all and that the young can not pass from one to another.

I added an image where you can see how the possible divisions would be interesting to divide it into four partitions but every division is very small and I want them to be communicated to compensate that they are small aquariums and achieve a greater stability of water parameters altogether all of them.

Sorry for my English I tried to do my best because I am from Spain and I am not English speaking.

Greetings and thanks.

Aquarium divisions for shrimp rack.png

Edited by Arkaedus

Madmerv

Hello @Arkaedus

First up welcome to SKFA.

There are many ways to do what you want. The first decision is are the dividers are going to be glass or acrylic.

Both have their advantages and dis-advantages. Glass is stronger and is easier to stick to glass so it will help with the strength of the tanks. It is harder to work with.  Acrylic is not so strong and cannot be relied on to stay stuck to glass with silicon so should not be part of the tanks bracing but it is much easier to cut.

So first up you could cut holes in the dividers and cover them with a small enough mesh so the small shrimp cannot go through.

You could cut the dividers 4-5cm short and have some mesh at the top so the water flows over the divider and through the mesh.