SKF welcomes Michael Petro to our community

skfadmin

Hello Michael Petro, Welcome to Shrimp Keepers Forum. Please feel free to browse around and get to know others. If you have any questions please don't hesitate to ask. regards, skfadmin

Thanks for the welcome.

My name is Mike and I am an Aquarium Addict.......

I hail from Martinsville VA in the US.

I came to this forum because I saw a lot of high end quality information posted here.

Thanks for having me.

Mike

• Like 1

I came to this forum because I saw a lot of high end quality information posted here.

You betcha Mike.

And we have fun while sharing the info too.

A little bit about me.

I have been keeping large AFrican Cichlid tanks for about 30 years. Have also done the the hight-tech planted community tank, Arrowannas, Oscars, Snakeheads, and other genres over the years. My main calling has always been the Africans though.

One thing about Africans is that they tend to have a high bioload, and they will usually shred any plants that are introduced. Consequently I was having nitrate problems and algae problems, even with regular water changes.

This is my 150 gal tank, the rocks are about the size of soccer balls.

20150117_192912_zpspituop1v.jpg

So I started thinking about nitrate reactors, refugiums, veggie filters, aquaponics, etc to handle the nitrate problem. After reading a bunch I settled on doing a refugium. The typical algae refugium in a wet/dry sump didnt grab me because it held little interest to the eye.  I settled on a vaggie filter of sorts. A 29 gal tank heavily planted and tied into the same wet/dry as my big tank. I then added some RCS for interest.

20150117_192856_zpsa9fpprog.jpg

Then I got the shrimp bug........

Which is what lead me here.

• Like 1

BTW, the refugium worked! My nitrates are now nice and low, and algae in the main display tank is managable.