SKF welcomes Lukehb21 to our community

skfadmin

Welcome to the forum Lukehb21!!

Be sure to post some images of your shrimp setups and tell us a bit about the shrimp your are keeping! Ask lots of questions and we will be happy to share info to help you along the way!!

Always great to have more overseas members joining in!!

Welcome and Enjoy!!

hi and thanks for the welcomes!

Have been browsing this site for a while and seen as im keen to get involved was hoping this would be the perfect place to pick up some tips and progress my interest!

Im a complete newbie (hope that is ok!) in preparation to set up my first ever tank after some extensive research online! due to my lack of space i am going to be getting a 10gal shrimp tank (maybe a little smaller). Before i start i wanted to make sure i have everything ready for starting a new tank!

My first tank is going to be red cherry shrimp because i have heard that they are more forgiving when it comes to new owners basically (though i hope i will do just fine for them). I will be doing a fishless cycle on my tank, and have proceeded to order a master test kit and a bottle of ammonia for the job. As i will be using tap water in my tank so i have also purchased a bottle of tetra safe water conditioner. Atm im not sure wether my tank will be the new 10gal im looking at or off a friend that hasnt used his in years so i was wondering is there any difference in how long the cycle should take? or any tips on it?

I have decided to use a sponge filter for my tank but as for the plants i am not sure what to get, would fake plants be ok? or would i need real plants for the shrimp to feed on and if not what would they eat? another thing im not sure on is what substrate to use as everytime i look up a recommended one theres another forum post on it warning to avoid it. any ideas?