Crossbreeding and cubing

BristledOne

Hi Everyone!In a recent topic (2014 price guide) I saw mention from squiggle about Phenotypes and Genotypes. I hope he doesn't mind me quoting him on this as I feel it's probably the best description I've read in a while

genotype(genetically pure) & phenotype(looking like but impure genetics)
This then started some talk about what counts as pure? and how some genetics skip generations. It got my mind-a-jogging and so below I'd like to write up some of my thoughts on genetic purity and the explanation of these skipping genetics and how they come to be. I'd really appreciate everyone's input, as we all know I'm only new to shrimp keeping but I have been searching into these things before when trying to figure out how line bred guppies came to be and more recently I did the maths to figure out plans for my longfin Bristlenose projects."Cubing" and line breedingThe principal should be able to apply to any sort of genetics, fish, birds, dogs and...people 0_0But pretty much it's just keeping the mother or father, breeding it with a suitable mate then crossing back the children with the parent you most want them to match. So for shrimp we tend to accept you keep the male as it can be bred to more shrimp in a shorter period of time, but you can technically do it by keeping a chosen female and crossing her back with her male young but you will get less offspring in a given space of time and those offspring all have a chance of expressing slightly different phenotypes. So the more phenotypes we can choose from the greater chance we have of selecting and strengthening desired traits along the way. This is how traits such as longer or unusual fins on fish like guppies have been found and secured, same goes I imagine with the CRS shrimp as I believe they originally were a rare color morph found coming from CBS, then someone isolated that trait through cube line breedingBelow is what I believe to be correct maths for the cubing process, the