can we increase calcium absorbtion by adding vitamin d?

shrimphive

Curious to know if shrimp are able to absorb calcium if they have a vitamin difficency.

Reason I ask is humans can not absorb calcium if vitamin d levels is down.

It also raises other question re the importance of light to absorb vitamin d to aid calcium obsorbtion.

My head scratcher for the day hmmm

• Like 2

Wow, what an awesome question! I'm really interested the hear an answer on this one, it's questions like that which make me wish I was a molecular biologist, lol. :victorious:

Short answer = Yes.

That's why we go on and on about water Hardness (GH), the measure of quantity of divalent salts in the water.

The hardness of a water sample is reported in milligrams per liter (same as parts per million, ppm) as calcium carbonate (mg/l CaCO3). Calcium carbonate hardness is a general term that indicates the total quantity of divalent salts present and does not specifically identify whether calcium, magnesium and/or some other divalent salt is causing water hardness. Hardness can be a mixture of divalent salts. In theory, it is possible to have water with high hardness that contains no calcium. Calcium is the most important divalent salt in fish culture water.

Calcium has an important role in the biological processes of fish and shrimp. It is necessary for bone formation, blood clotting and other metabolic reactions. Fish and shrimp can absorb calcium for these needs directly from the water or food. The presence of free (ionic) calcium at relatively high concentrations in culture water helps reduce the loss of other salts (e.g. sodium and potassium) from fish body fluids (i.e. blood). And for shrimp, calcium is required for development of their carapace (shell).

This is where magnesium comes into play. Without magnesium, the calcium is not made available for absorption by the fish or shrimp.