Hello

Jodster

Hi everyone,

I'm fairly new to keeping shrimp, I have Red Cherries which seem to be going ok but want to know a bit more about other shrimp varieties, I am looking to next get some Yellow cherries which I understand to be just a colour variant of the red's and live in the exact same conditions, is this so and any other info would be appreciated

• HOF Member

Hi welcome to SKF. Are you intending to keep them in the same tank? All colour varieties of cherries will interbreed and you will end up losing your individual colour varieties so you need divided tanks or separate tanks for each colour.

Welcome to SKF, yes, all cherries WP are similar, their tolerance to varying conditions are great, although productivity will drop if the PH gets <6.5'ish. Cherries come in a varieties of amazing colours ! As you post, the forum will open up, alternatively premium membership for $12.50 will give you entire access to the forum, including the classifieds...etc. there's. HUGE shrimp sale happening at 10pm tomorrow (Sunday) !

Thanks Bluebolts and Ineke, I do have some other tanks with bristle nose and L numbers which shouldn't harm the shrimp in theory, but how would the shrimp 'feel' with large tank mates?

Iv heard that a lot of plecos are omnivorous and will eat baby shrimp if I'm wrong would love to know then I could put them in my breeding bn tank lol

• HOF Member

If they feel threatened they will hide all the time and you won't see them. In theory the BN and L numbers won't eat them but I don't know whether in fact they won't . Generally most fish will eat anything that will fit in their mouth. I keep my fish separate from the shrimp but someone else may be able to tell you if theirs are safe as we have a few breeders on this forum

Bretty4527 I hope they will be 'ok' with bn's otherwise I will need a stack more tanks!