S.A Newb

idlwld

Hi everyone, I'm new to the shrimp keeping game and thought I'd join your forum to make sure I'm doing it right! :D

Hope to find plenty of useful tips and contribute once I get the hang of it myself.

Cheers

Idlwld

Welcome to SKF. As your increase your post count, the forum will open up for you, and you'll find lots of info, pics and advise. Alternatively, you can get premium membership, and have access to the entire forum, incl, the buy/sell section..

What shrimps have you got now.... Post some pics...we love pics here.

• HOF Member

Hi and welcome to SKF great to see another person from SA . The forum has heaps of info for you to learn about shrimp keeping. No question is a silly question so ask anything you want to know about shrimp and someone will be sure to have the answer. The forum will open up for you as you post so the more you post the more you get to see.

I've only got a couple of red cherries at the moment in a 46L Fluval Edge with my fish, whilst I wait for my other tank (Fluval Ebi) to cycle. I hope to put CBS in there, possibly with some yellow cherries. May have to ask for some advice on my second post, as I have just done a partial water change in the EBI and noticed little hair like worms on the glass!?!?! What are they, are they harmful to shrimp and how do I get rid of them? Pretty sure they are not planaria as they are not flat or have eyes (that I can see anyway) I'll try and take some pics for ID purposes shortly

Hey mate, welcome to the forum. In reference to your last question, they sound like nematodes. Generally not too harmful but may be a sign of overfeeding.

Yeah, pic would be great. We also have a library which shows all the worms, insects etc that we may find in our tanks.

Welcome to the forum. You've come to the right place to learn about shrimp. Great bunch of people here.