Hi

DeagonTheo

Hi, I'm just a newbie to the shrimp world but I've been breeding and keeping fish for many years. First I heard about shrimp was when I bought some Peppermint Bristlenose and there were these funny little cooked prawns.

That was about a month ago, since then I bought some CRS and CBS and put them in rainwater with black gravel. Everything was fine for 3 weeks and then they started dying. Checked the PH and it was 8.2, put peat in stayed at 8.2, put in PH down, went down, then went back up.

I've tried all kinds of stuff and it just kept going back up. So I've gone back to tap water with Acid buffer, now I'm finally down to 6.8 and the shrimpies are looking fine again.

anyway, I joined the forum to see what I can learn about these little things.

Theo

• HOF Member

Hi and welcome to SKF heaps to learn here . CRS are a little more complex than the cherry family and definitely need their water parameters kept in their safe limits. The forum will open up for you as you post so put up some pictures of your fish, shrimp and tanks. Ask questions there are plenty of people here to share their knowledge with you. Hope you enjoy our forum.

Welcome to SKF Theo. WP and stability gets more critical as your shrimp journey takes you the the reaches of TB's. Using buffers, only temporarily drops the PH, and can cause more issues. Need to perhaps ascertain what's causing the PH to head towards the 8.2, alternativey , the next step is to get a shrimp specific tank, with buffering sand.. Etc Would love to see pics.

My Tank

This was my tank a few days ago, now it's just a hospital tank, while I'm trying to save the shrimp.[ATTACH]4102[/ATTACH]

post-3614-139909851819_thumb.jpg

Important WP, are PH (<7), TDS (<300), GH 4-6, and a cycled tank with nitrates less then 20ppm, preferably 0. Many hobbyist may have different WP, but these would be safe parameters....temp 22-24 too.