Is it worth changing to ada shrimp soil?

Walshy

Hey guys. I'm pretty new to shrimp but I bought 10 a grade crs a while ago purely because they were $5 each and I found them interesting. Now a little hooked and wanting more lol. I threw them in one of my apisto grow out tanks 30cm cube (the first tank I used to put them in after separating from parents) the tank is heavily planted for cover with some driftwood and standard inert black sander it might be searches fluorite black sand (can't remember which tanks I used which gravel) Water from my tap is about ph6.5 and extremely soft. I have added shrimp balls to add a little minerals to the water because I was told that their shells wouldn't develop properly with nothing in the water. The shrimp seem fine. Breed well. I probably have about 30 to 40 new .5cm juveniles swimming around in there at the moment. My question is. Is it worth my time changing the tank to ada soil? They appear to be fine and I'm getting quite a few baby shrimp growing up but it's difficult to tell if I'm having a high survival rate because u don't see the juveniles until they are large enough to spot. The tank has plenty of inhabitants swimming around that indicate a healthy tank and I've not seen a dead shrimp in there ever really. I am just reading up on them and everyone seems to swear by this ada soil and says it promotes breeding and survival rates. Thanks for your time.

If it ain't broke don't fix it!

+1.... if you can easiy maintain a PH (6-7), TDS (>300ppm) & GH (4-8), then there's absolutely no reason to change. A Grades are more tolerant, so what you've describe seems to be working well, so no need IMHO. Got a pic for us ? Would love to see your tank.