how do the colour variations show up/where do they come from

ineke

• HOF Member

Hi,

So as a complete novice who doesn't understand the deep secrets of genetics I would like to know how the various cherry colour traits come about. Are they sports/mutations that show up occasionally in a colony that the breeder then line breeds to deepen that colour. So for someone who doesn't understand genetics if I leave my colony of red cherries to breed is it feasible that something unusual will eventually turn up or does the colour mutation need to be introduced.

Rillis show up in both cherrys and crystals (thanks BB) but how?

maybe too many questions for one thread but please tale it away guys- but in easy to understand terms because I'm sure there are more people like me on the forum but they just don't want to admit they are confused like me:confused:

I leave this thread open to any and all questions don't fell you are taking over the thread -all information is good!!!

Cheers

Ineke

I left my red cherrys alone for months in a 4ft tank with fish, and only removed the lesser coloured females occasionally, and I ended up with a couple of what I call potential rili's occuring on their own in the tank.

Shrimp have huge genetic varation so usually some colour/ pattern will turn up spontaniously and as long as it does not adversely affect the shrimp (any creature really) then the trait will be carried on to the next generation. This is where the hobbiests/ farmers/ breeders come in, they see the new genetic trait and find it desriable either for size or colour and then selectivley breed from the shrimp showing these traits until the trait becomes strong and consistant.

So yes if you just let the shrimp do what they do there is a very good chance of something new turning up in your tank, especially if you began with a small gene pool (I started with 13 red cherry shrimp) and don't introduce any new bloodlines to that gene pool.

• HOF Member

Thanks Baccus4702,