Dino Plant fertilisers from Aquagreen

fishmosy

C678568D-78B0-435D-B21B-43A8F0C56FED-1685-000003208911F68C.jpg

First thing you need to know about these products is that these are designed for use with what I call a 'mid tech aquarium'. If you have plants that require medium to high light, require fertiliser but not necessarily CO2, then these may be good for you. My tank is set up this way, so I can't comment for lower or higher tech tanks.

I have been using these fertilisers from Aquagreen for the past six months or so with plants including crinums, bucephalandra, java ferns, crypts, bolbitus, amazon swords amongst others.

The three fertilisers I use are:

Dino Pee (liquid fertiliser)

Dino Spit (glutaldehyde)

Dino Dung (fertiliser tablets)

As per instruction on the bottle, For a six foot tank, I dose 0.5mL of Dino Pee daily, 1.0mL Dino Spit every second day (and spot dose if required) and use the fertiliser tablets in the soil below the (potted) plants every few months.

Given these dosage rates, the 500mL bottles will last a long time!

Also note the glutaldehyde in the Dino Spit is very concentrate, far more so than other commercial products (e.g. Florish Excel which I have used in the past), and so far cheaper in comparison.

I have had no problems with algae since switching from other commercial premix fertiliser products, which I occasionally had problems with BBA. I only have to scrape a little bit of green spot from the glass every couple of weeks, which I (and others) consider to be a good sign in planted tanks.

I keep riffle shrimp, rainbowfish, an SAE and glassfish in this tank and haven't had any negative reactions from them even when experimentally doubling the reccomended dose of Dino Spit when spot dosing newly introduced plants.

Given I paid approx $50 for these three products I am very happy and consider these great value for money. I'd highly reccommend these to everybody.

• Like 1