Welcome JoM

JoM

SKF Aquatics (Shrimp Keepers Forum) welcomes JoM.

Please feel free to browse around and get to know others. If you have any questions please don't hesitate to ask.

View Member

regards,
skfadmin

Edit: I realise now there's probably a more appropriate place for these questions. I might still leave them here for now before I reach out elsewhere.

Hello, I'm new to the shrimp world and I'm going to jump right in with some questions. I'm in the process of deciding if I want to stick with my 30 litre round tank that hasn't been used in a few years, or start with a brand new square tank. So obviously I'm not ready for a shrimp colony yet, but as a start I'd like to know a few things. I'm happy to chat with people about these questions but I'd also like to be pointed in the right direction to do my own research.

First of all, I know shrimp like moss and algae, what else do they like in the way of live plants?

Secondly, I'd like to keep more than one variety in the same tank if possible. I know cherry shrimp of different colours will interbreed, so I'm looking to keep blue cherry shrimp with either pinto's or crystal shrimp, probably in red. Are they compatible? Where will I find the best info on the needs of both breeds?

Lastly, I wouldn't mind keeping some fish with them. Obviously they have to be small mouths and not be predators and I know that no matter how small their mouths, they will probably still eat any baby shrimp should my colony breed. Which fish, if any, are recommended? 

Thanks in advance!

Edited by JoM

30 minutes ago, JoM said:

30 litre round tank that hasn't been used in a few years, or start with a brand new square tank

That would be entirely your choice, but personally I prefer square or rectangular tanks.

I know shrimp like moss and algae, what else do they like in the way of live plants?