Clicky

Triggs

Up Aqua - Shrimp Sand

Triggs

Product: Up Aqua - Shrimp Sand

Price: Usually around $15 - $20 per 2L bag

Cons: Didn't find any at all really, The grains are quite light weight so can be hard to plant in. However some simple plant clips solved this problem.

Pros: pH buffer, No Ammonia spikes when added at all, Clean looking, Light enough for shrimps to pick up and eat bio film off.

Rating: 8/10

I've been using Up Aqua Shrimp Sand in my 20L nano now for a few months (6-9 I loose count) and have found it to do everything it claims and to be a fantastic looking soil that buffers perfectly and consistently.

my pH has been a consistent 6.4 since I put it in. There were no traces of Ammonia or Nitrites or anything since I added it, even on the first day. Unlike other brands it doesn't buffer for GH or KH however, If you wanna play with these parameters yourself and change it this can be a good thing.

From my experience I'd happily recommend this product to people looking for a nice clean looking Shrimp Sand that buffers the pH.

Loach

+1.

Though mine buffers to PH6.5, GH6 & KH1. So it does affect hardness.

Triggs
+1.

Though mine buffers to PH6.5' date=' GH6 & KH1. So it does affect hardness.[/quote']

What were your GH and KH parameters from the tap?

Cheers

Loach

I cant remember for sure but they were alot higher.

Triggs
I cant remember for sure but they were alot higher.

Damn, that's interesting. I'll have to get a drop kit pack, Used to use those dodgy strip testers and found them to be the same as the tap water. But I don't think the test strips are as accurate as what the drop testers are.

Cheers mate.

jts

+1

i'm using it with UGF and works very well

it buffers ph from 7.8(tap) to 6.4 but no effect on GH/KH

Gbang

very nice! might be useful for another new setup

Joele

Buffers one of my tanks around 6.4 or so also, KH in my tank like my tap water is virtually non existent (0 to 1)

BlueBolts