Feeding Schedule for RCS

Geoff

I'm looking for a feeding schedule recommendation. I currently have about 20 or so Red Cherry Shrimp and 4 Mystery Snails in a planted 10 gallon tank. I feed them algae wafers, sinking shrimp pellets, and zucchini/summer squash. I believe I am overfeeding as I am experiencing an explosion of bladder snails. 

Given the inhabitants and the foods I listed above, how much and how often should I feed them?

Thanks!

Ha-Ha @Geoff, this is a brilliant question and I am very interested in what other members reply with. Below is just my two cents worth as I was an over feeder and I have been testing foods for the last 6 months. I have not factored in the mystery snails as someone else will have to chime in on their dietary requirements.

You do not state which pellets you are feeding, but I have tested almost all the pellet foods and they disperse quite easily in the water, are high fish- protein and are very processed and enriched with vitamins that leach into the water almost immediately. The Hikari algae wafer performed poor on stability ( lots of wheat flour) in my shrimp food wafer showdown test that I posted about two months back. If the food disperses in your water current, all the snails basically get a 'takeaway meal' as the fine food particles comes to them as it settles on surfaces and substrate.

The food you want is a natural, minimally-processed, plant-based shrimp food pad like EbitaBreed or Shrirakura or any good brand that is stable. The natural vitamins and minerals are bound to organic molecules and do not disperse in the water easily. I strongly believe if you just change this part to start off with, your snail breeding will slow down. I have managed to stop my bladder and mini-rams horns plagues with the above.