Substrate maintenance

daveron

Hello, 

I'm currently having one basic shrimp tank with cherries and neutral substrate and was thinking about something more advanced but the substrate topic does confuse me.

My tap water is very alkaline with PH around 8.0-8.2 so I will need to get that down significantly. But while reading about the substrates that will help me achieve that goal and be good for shrimps I have found information that those substrates need to be changed, as they loose their parameters over time, and can even become harmful. Is that correct ?

If yes then...how do you do that without dismantling the whole tank ?  I always assumed that the substrate you choose for your tank is a permanent choice. I am however a complete novice, as I started my shrimp tank because the tank itself was a gift. So did I got something wrong, or is this really the case and if yes... how does it work ?

This is correct, it's like with any active product(air freshener, car tyres, candles, etc) they eventually run out(some more obviously than others). The substance in your soil that buffers the pH down will eventually loose it's ability to do this effectively &, unfortunately, relacement is the last option. You can extend the life of your soil dramatically by using RO water & minerals, like Salty Shrimp, to remineralise the water to where you want it so the soil doesn't have to work so hard to buffer the water, or you can add products like Benibachi Fulvic Grains to help bring the pH back down to where you want it when it is exhausted & starts to rise, but ultimately you will need to replace the soil in the end.

This is where it is most often better to pay a little more for a quality soil that will keep its buffering for longer than the cheaper ones. :thumbsu:

Thank you very much for your reply.