Dying Shrimp

jimburns4u

Hey guys i have been keeping crystal shrimp for about 4 months now, just last week i started noticing about one shrimp dying a day, first few times i noticed to late and the shrimp was almost totally eaten by other shrimps. The last few times however they have not been eaten. I have now had 1 shrimp die everyday for the last 2 days in another tank. 2 shrimps got berried in the same tank in the last few days and they are all coming for food and behaving normally. But there are a couple in there that there colours have rapidly deteriated in the last few days. I am a novice in the fish/shrimp world and i would appeciate any advice.

I have checked me tank peramaters and they are all steady

ph 6.6

temp 22c

kh 1

gh 5

tds 180

I have some taiwan bees in a partition in the 2nd tank and so far none have died so i want to try and get it fixed asap! cheers

Sorry to hear…..taht looks like a failed moult…..touch the shrimp and see whether it's soft to touch, or whether you can feel it's shell…I suspect its soft to touch. Shrimp require calcium in the water, and in consumption as well, and amongst other things like your Ca:Mg ratio, it will ensure a good moult,

Thanks for the reply BB, I use reverse osmosis water with gh+ remineralizer. Would this cause so many deaths in 2 seperate tanks? Should i go buy a calcium test?

Either that or head down to your LFS, and get them to check you Ca, BUT really worth the $ purchasing a kit… there's a thread on SKF on how to use the API Ca Test kit, as our Ca value is so low, instead of using a 5ml tube, a 20ml tube will give us a much more accurate reading.

Was the shrimp soft to touch ?

i had already flushed him down the toilet! i will take my water into local fish shop see what they think. What do i do to add calcium? I feed them a mix of hikari shrimp food, kale, spinach and bloodworms