Sign in to follow this  
Hughes78

Ro water setup

Hughes78

Well hi I have just setup my 2ft shrimp only tank with ro water and have just read that I need to use salty shrimp mineral additive . Just not sure which to use as I will have red rilli shrimp and hopefully f3 mishlings in the tank but not sure which additive to use, so any help in this would be very helpful as I know all you shrimp encyclopaedias out there might be able to help???? Cheers Daniel

blindfisherman

I would more than likely go for the GH+ to get the ideal parameters for the mishlings.

Do you have substrate in there?

Hughes78

Yes i have done a bit of a stuff up and used black earth premium and put benibachi super sand on top. Thanks for the fast reply and direction was only putting rillis and hopefully f3 mishlings in for now but I also have crs and CBS but don't want to stuff up the f3 lines so not sure as I'm very new to this and for a little tank it's quite costly ( glade I have done the 2 ft tank and not my 6 ft tank as I was going to do originally .

BlueBolts

Hi Daniel, what's the PH and TDS of the tank ATM ?

Hughes78

Hi ph is 6.5 not sure on tds

Hughes78

Hi not really sure what is happening but yesterday my ph was 6 today it is 7.6 ( using black earth premium and benibachi powder as substrate ) and my tds pen came today so I checked and it is 210 . I had some mineral rock in the tank but think it is old so took it out and with in 20 min it dropped to 190. If any one can help it would be muchly appreciated? I also have used some old white filter pad from a mature canister and some dirty water from mature canister to help cycle my tank, so not sure if this is the cause. Cheers Daniel

BlueBolts

Hey Daniel....