New 3x2x2 Planted Shrimp Tank

lisapie

So I've been keeping planted aquariums for 10 years now, but always low tech and low-cost to maintain. I've always used pool filter sand as the substrate and have had relatively good success in keeping a variety of easier to grow plants, and have never used heating or cooling. I currently have a custom built 6x2x2ft tiered tank which is divided into 3 sections, a standard 2.5ft tank, and a standard 3ft tank set up. I acquired some cherry shrimp as a bonus after purchasing the 2.5ft tank and since then my dream of having a mid-high tech planted tank for shrimp has been a constant source of distraction. This combined with having recently purchased some crypts and finding they are flourishing and throwing off new plantlets within a month (after years of presuming they would just melt and never return in my low-tech tanks) means I can no longer ignore the urge to set up a proper planted tank for shrimp.

I was lucky enough to stumble across someone selling a 3x2x2ft tank (with a 2228 Eheim Professional thrown in) which fits perfectly into an awkward spot in my loungeroom, and with space in my one bedroom apartment at a premium already due to MTS (multiple tank syndrome) this means it will be replacing my standard 3ft tank. It's arriving in around a week and I have been spending hours on end researching and planning every option possible in terms of substrate, hardscape and inhabitants. I want to do this the right way from the start as all my other tanks have been thrown together with whatever I could find at the time that was suitable and relatively cheap, then upgraded and built upon as time passed.