Sign in to follow this  
ineke

my boys are frantically swimming around

ineke

Hi All,

So my boys are all excitedly swimming around while the girls are just quietly grazing. This hasn't happened before but as I write I noticed someone has shedded. Is this behaviour because one of the females is ready to breed? This is only week 3 of owning shrimp and although I have a couple of shrimplettes they came from berried females that I bought. I am new to behaviours as so far all has been slow and steady.

Cheers

Ineke

Heavyd

It's very likely that the males are looking for the female who just changed her dress.

Aquathumb

Yep, Sounds like you have a female releasing pheromones :D

ineke

Hi heavyd,

Thanks for that. I thought that may have been the case. Is it possible to spot who has just shedded ? Are there any signs that she has a new"dress"

Cheers

Ineke

Aquathumb

Easy way is to see who is berried tomorrow!

ineke

Hi Aquathumb,

Thought that might have been the reason for the excitement, they certainly are busy.

Cheers

Ineke

ineke

Oh great I will be spending even MORE time staring at my tank. At least hubby will be glad I'm quiet!!!

Cheers

Ineke

Heavyd
Hi heavyd' date='

Thanks for that. I thought that may have been the case. Is it possible to spot who has just shedded ? Are there any signs that she has a new"dress"

Cheers

Ineke[/quote']

Quite often it's the shrimp who is hiding. The new shell takes a while to harden, so they probably feel vulnerable after moulting.

Aquathumb
Oh great I will be spending even MORE time staring at my tank. At least hubby will be glad I'm quiet!!!

Cheers

Ineke

lol. Staring at my shrimp tanks doesn't keep my wife quiet! hehe

Heavyd

Quite often I can't hear my partner over the sounds of the pumps and chillers etc. At least that's what I tell her lol

ineke