Question

Hammy

When shrimp breed will/does the male stay around to help protect the female or is it a slam bam thank you mam bye. Type deal? I ask because I’m new to keeping shrimp and I have a female that’s got eggs and she isn’t happy when any other shrimp come near she just keeps moving away from them all, all except one male shrimp she is happy to have him about. I’m not concerned about it I’m just curious to know if it’s natural behaviour 

Edited by Hammy
Deleted the picture
  • Like 1

It is just a case of they mate and that is it, they don't pair up as far as I am aware!

Is the planaria treatmrnt working ok? Also, is the salt baths working?

Simon

Everything seems to be yeah I’m not seeing anything I stopped doing the baths about two days ago and I’ve put them back into the tank with the others today actually and I’ve not seen any increase in the hydra I do still have one tiny tiny one on the glass but I’m positive it’s getting smaller and not bigger so I’m hoping that’s sorted. I’m due to give it a water change but I was wondering if I could/should give it another treatment or would that be a bad idea. all my stats are where they should be. 

• Like 1

The eggs you see being carried by the female have already been fertilised.  She is carrying them until they hatch. The male responsible is long gone.  She might be giving other males the cold shoulder because she is not receptive and wont be until the next moult by which time the current load of eggs will generally have hatched.  Occasionally the timing will get skewed such that the female moults before all the eggs have hatched and the eggs will be shed with the old exoskeleton but generally speaking this isn't "the plan".

Edited by Grubs
  • Like 1
  • Thanks 1