Nitrogen Cycle Spike

Neos in Woodstock

Although I read that most shrimp keepers/breeders do so in a shrimp only tank, I wanted to try keeping them with fancy guppies. Unfortunately, as a newbie I think I overfed and now have had a spike in the nitrogen cycle. A few days ago, I cut back on the feeding to the detriment of the newborn guppy fry as they became dinner for the adults, and performed 50% water changes while also adding Seachem Stability. Does anyone have any other suggestions that will lower the ammonia and nitrites/nitrates faster? All seems good at the moment but I have to keep adding Stability to bind the ammonia etc while my sponge filters pick up the difference.

Also, how often should I be rinsing out the sponges in aquarium water? Once a month? Less or more often? They never look very dirty.

• Like 2
jayc
4 hours ago, Neos in Woodstock said:

how often should I be rinsing out the sponges in aquarium water? Once a month? Less or more often? They never look very dirty.

I would not clean my sponge filters unless they are visibly clogged with dirt. There is no specific timeframe. Just squeeze it clean only when you see a lot of dirt clogging the sponge.

Does anyone have any other suggestions that will lower the ammonia and nitrites/nitrates faster?

Have more than one sponge filter going, in a separate tank. When this happens, you transfer that into the tank.

Or wash the filter from another tank straight into this tank. Yes, it will be dirty, but you seed the tank with millions of beneficial bacteria. The dirt can be removed later once the tank is back under control.

I think I overfed and now have had a spike in the nitrogen cycle.

ammonia spike don't just happen, unless there was so much food uneaten that caused the issue.