Shrimp cross breeding

northboy

Hi All

I am not an expert, but I will shed a little light on the subject for all. I will also try to down load some of the line drawings I have.

Shrimp cross breeding between different species is just about impossible, Why? because of the males reproduction organs, when you see some photos taken under a microscope you can see the astounding differences. Some have clubs, some have different hairs and hooks and some have spikes to name just a few. Then there is the front sets of feet they grip the female with, they are very different to.

It is a question I get asked a lot about natives and it is a very good question. Shrimp like Rileys, cherries, yellow cherries, chocs and the rest are all the same shrimp, just man made variations on one and another so they can all breed with each other. Cherry and Crystals No, I have not seen there reproduction organs under a scope, But I imagine they are way different. Also there is the issue of compatible sperm to.

Natives No, not ever Zebras and false Zebras (confusa) as they are vastly different shrimp.

How ever in saying al of that, it would be good if they did as the variations would be fantastic. Also saying all that it is not beyond the realms of possibility, as Mother nature finds a way it just not easily done

Bob

• Like 1

oooh.. thats really intersting stuff..

i had no idea about the different reproductive organs..

pics would be awsome too. to help educate us even more..

cheers

:D i knew that some variants could interbreed due to both being cherrys for eg. But didn't know that the impossibility was due to totally different reproductive organs until bob cleared it up for me about 2hrs ago :-P you don't happen to have pics do you bob?

I have some line drawings some where, when I find them I will put it up.