Sign in to follow this  
Phoenix

What did I buy?

Phoenix

Hi, Im new to shrimp keeping and I just bought some without my glasses on 😂 

Can anyone tell me what it is I got.. I'm not saying what they were shown as!!

IMG_20201215_121007.jpg

• Like 1

sdlTBfanUK

Hello fellow UK!

I would say it is almost certainly neocaridina (cherry) and quite pretty. If it is just purchased the colour may improve over the next week! I imagine it is a red or orange cherry shrimp? They can be a bit blotchy like the head of the picture, but the tail looks redder?? Did you just get the one or do you have otheers and do they look similar? It is very unusual but it may change a bit if it is very new?

Simon

• Like 1

jayc

My guess is a cherry shrimp as well.

• Like 2

Phoenix

Haha, they are supposed to be orange Sakura, the pics are two different shrimp, the others are still somewhere in the undergrowth 🙂

i agree that they are pretty, I've ordered some more as it's my first journey into shrimp keeping, but they seem happy 

I will post more pics as they get braver 😍

• Like 1

Phoenix

IMG_20201213_214109__01__01__01.jpg

IMG_20201215_121235__01__01.jpg

IMG_20201213_215023__02.jpg

• Like 1

jayc
13 hours ago, Phoenix said:

they are supposed to be orange Sakura

Sakura is just a colour variation of a cherry chrimp.

When we say "cherry" shrimp we mean Neocaridina.

And yes, the pictures you posted looks like an Orange sakura cherry shrimp (Neocaridina). Albeit of a lower quality.

Hopefully with some care, good food and love it will improve in colouration. 

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  

• Must Read SKF Articles

• Join Our Community!

Register today, ask questions and share your shrimp and fish tank experiences with us!

• Chels