Dashrimp

Neocaridina - cherry shrimp and daphnia feeding

Dashrimp

Hi all. I'm a newbie. I'm keeping a 90 litre tank with cherry shrimp and daphnia together. I'm feeding them spirulina and commercial shrimp food.

Does anyone know what else I should be feeding them? Anyone else have this mix of tankmates?

• Like 1

jayc

There are so many varieties of food you can be feeding them.

Have a read of this Food & Nutrition section for more ideas.

Leaves, flowers, vege scraps.

Frozen bloodworms.

Bee Pollen.

• Like 1

sdlTBfanUK

Thats a great idea, keeping daphnia with the shrimps! I am trying to keep daphnia in a small (2L) container and after week one it appears to be working ok? I won't be able to keep the daphnia with the cherry shrimps though as there are fish with the shrimps (the daphnia is for the fish)!

There are a lot of shrimp foods out there but you may not need any extra if the tank has lots of biofilm unless there are LOTS of shrimps in the tank. As JayC states, you can feed vegetables, though they need to be organic and blanched! If you are just looking for a little boost for the shrimps I would go for a 'complete' commercial food and maybe a 'Baby' food - each manufacturer makes one of each of these, but always use less than they recommend!

Simon

Dashrimp

Thanks.  I was feeding the daphnia yeast before I put the shrimp in.  I am nervous about the shrimp and the yeast though. Do you think it is safe?

• Like 1

sdlTBfanUK

I feed my daphnia yeast and spirulina as well! I wouldn't think that yeast would affect the shrimps as long as you don't use too much, I know the spirulina is fine as that is used in shrimp foods. I buy powdered both and mix together so they get some of each every time but they aren't in the same tank as shrimps!