CO2 Help Needed

ricksza

I am new to CO2 because I wanted to maintain a full Hairgrass carpet (plus other plants) in my tank and everyone says CO2 is the way to have it.

I just acquired new-in-box from 2015 a CO2 setup: GLA PRO-1-SS regulator, 5 lb tank, Atomic 70mm diffuser, Atomic bubble counter with integrated check valve & a Milwaukee MC122 pH controller.

Any issues with any of this equipment other than price? I would like to use this on my two new (not set up yet) 20-gallon shrimp tanks.

Questions I have:

Can I just add another GLA Manifold Block to the regulator for the second tank?

The Atomic diffuser operation looks great in videos, is 70mm too big for a 20-gallon, what size should I have?

Do I need the Atomic bubble counter with integrated check valve since the Manifold Block has its own bubble counter?

Is the pH controller really that much better or should I stick with a timer?

I appreciate any and all opinions on this since I am a novice.

3 hours ago, ricksza said:

Can I just add another GLA Manifold Block to the regulator for the second tank?

You should be able to get a dual regulator (up to 5 regulators).

$350 for the GLA PRO-2! 

But surely a Y splitter could achieve the same result, no?

GLA Pro-2 CO2 Regulator | Green Leaf Aquariums

The Atomic diffuser operation looks great in videos, is 70mm too big for a 20-gallon, what size should I have?

Yes too big, IF you are still keeping shrimp in the tank. Get the smaller 55mm one. If you don't have shrimp than 70mm is still fine.

I prefer the inline diffusers to be honest. One less item to clutter up the tank.

Do I need the Atomic bubble counter with integrated check valve since the Manifold Block has its own bubble counter?

No you don't need a separate bubble counter.

Is the pH controller really that much better or should I stick with a timer?

Dunno. I have never used a ph controller with CO2 system. Mine is old school, it uses a solenoid & timer.