Looking for handy tips and tricks

GtWalker97

Hi folks, I'm new to the breeding game and was wondering if there were and handy tips and tricks for breeding and keeping cherries?

I have a colony of mixed grade reds (working on culling y stock, just don't have a lot of time), a small colony of blue velvets (which seem to be throwing red rillys for some reason) and a pair of wild type brown cherries, all in separate tanks. Any advice or "life hacks" would be awesome as I'm a college student on minimum wage

Thanks

Keep water parameters stable. Feed a vegetable/algae based diet with some protein. Leaves are great!

Can't think of anything specific really...

As zoidberg  says. If all is stable and the right parameters the problem is more 'how do I get less breeding' as they are prolific breeders when these are right. Obviously if you only have a few shrimps of one type you need both sexes........... The neo's need to be about 3 months old before they are of breeding age.

Suddenly thought, I saw this vid yesterday which you may enjoy:

Simon

On 3/10/2019 at 3:21 AM, sdlTBfanUK said:

As zoidberg  says. If all is stable and the right parameters the problem is more 'how do I get less breeding' as they are prolific breeders when these are right. Obviously if you only have a few shrimps of one type you need both sexes........... The neo's need to be about 3 months old before they are of breeding age.

Suddenly thought, I saw this vid yesterday which you may enjoy:

Simon

The video was great thanks mate, but I may need to reword my original post. I'm not having any issues keeping or breeding them (I've been working in the aquarium industry for near on 7 years now and now have 100+ red cherry nymphs in the tank), I was just hoping there were a few cheats and hints out there to help me improve my stocks and produce better quality shrimp through the generations.

• Like 2

Optimum water parameters. 

Culling, culling and more culling. Only keep the best quality.