Water quality

Matt1508

Hi everyone

Just wondering everyones thoughts on using Purigen in their shrimp tanks. I have used it with fish, but wondering if it is safe for use with shrimp?

Thanks

• HOF Member

Purigen is shrimp safe. I have used it quite often- usually just to remove tannins but it's good for removing lots of things. Just remember to use dechlorinator after recharging it. Macropore works well too.

• Like 1

I have been using Purigen for the last six months in my CRS tank, the purigen colour is currently clay brown still a little longer until it turns blackish requiring recharging. Yes as @ineke states soak in dechlorinator and I would probably use it in a fish tank before cycling back through a shrimp tank.

1 hour ago, zn30 said:

I have been using Purigen for the last six months in my CRS tank, the purigen colour is currently clay brown still a little longer until it turns blackish requiring recharging. Yes as @ineke states soak in dechlorinator and I would probably use it in a fish tank before cycling back through a shrimp tank.

Thanks so much for your help

Thanks , just setting up first bee shrimp tank and being cautious,all new Eco complete substrate. been told of ammonia spike. Waiting and testing     Thanks    zn30 and  ineke          

1 hour ago, Matt1508 said:

all new Eco complete substrate. been told of ammonia spike.

Hi Matt,

not sure what you have been told. But Eco complete does not give off ammonia like ADA substrate or CAL Black Earth premium.

It will not help start a cycle in your tank since it has no ammonia, which means that beneficial bacteria, won't grow until there is some ammonia (food source for BB). 

Eco complete is good if you already have a mature filter media you can seed the tank with.