Need Advice

Cryptocorynus

I didn't want to say this at the beginning because I was really embarrassed (and the person who sold them to me is a friend of mine), but all my crabs ended up dying on me within a few day. It may have been to do with transit (as about half were dead on arrival) but most likely I had a role to play in the deaths of those that got to me alive. So I guess I'm just wondering what I can do this time around (because the person who sold them to me was nice enough to agree to replace them!) to give them the best possible chance this time. I'm probably going to put them in a spa (straight rainwater) and inside in a non-shrimp tank. What are the paras people are keeping them in? Would you advise I do a drip acclimatisation? Is there any temperature-range I should specifically aim for in the inside tank? Should I keep the water a tad salty?

Edited by Cryptocorynus

I'm no expert on crabs, but the same advice can be given be it crabs, fish or shrimp ....

"always ask the supplier what water parameters they have in their tank."

If that person is nice enough to replace them, I'm sure he/she would want you to succeed, and would help by giving you water parameters and tips.

Edited by jayc
  • Like 2

@waffle has 2 types of FW crabs in his tanks now and his seem to be really happy- I would recommend chatting to him as I know one of his types is the same as yours...?

Quick post now, longer one later, have like 5 mins haha