Sign in to follow this  
thai3

TDS

thai3

Hi all. I am new to this hobby and have been keeping cherries and crs for a few months now. Each species have their own tank, from 20L to 35L. They are breeding well so far and I am going to move them into 55L tanks.

The new tanks were added with RO and old aquarium water, which read TDS of 120-150ppm, minimally planted, 240-litre rated sponge filter, black earth premium substrate, temperature maintain about 24-26 degree Celcius. Tank cycle was surprisingly quick with another matured external filter, almost no ammonia till date, I am guessing BEP doesn't leach ammonia like other subtrates. 

On day 3 after setting up, I put one feeder goldfish in each tank to ensure the water is right. After another 3 days, TDS now reads 230ppm, other parameters stay the same. The goldfish were fed only once with 2-3 pellets. I do add liquid CO2 every other day. I am trying to keep the TDS down to 150ppm for cars, they never breed for me anywhere above 180ppm. 

My questions are,

Why TDS rose by almost 100ppm within 3 days?

In terms of breeding, would cherries do fine in 200-250ppm?

Managing the parameters is easy in smaller tanks but I am not ready to move them until I can manage the new tanks parameters. 

jayc
3 hours ago, thai3 said:

Why TDS rose by almost 100ppm within 3 days?

3 hours ago, thai3 said:

I put one feeder goldfish in each tank to ensure the water is right.

Your answer would be this ^^^

Goldfish fouls the water fast.

3 hours ago, thai3 said:

In terms of breeding, would cherries do fine in 200-250ppm?

That's getting on the high side of TDS for cherries. I would keep it below 200.

revolutionhope