Sign in to follow this  
Getafix

Help a noob set up his first tank!

Getafix

Hey guys - I'm from Sydney and I'm new to shrimping but have some experience in keeping tropical freshwater fishes. I'd appreciate your input in helping me set up my first shrimp tank! Here are my current thoughts and questions.

[Tank]
Currently thinking of either:
1. Mr Aqua 3ft bookshelf (91cmx21x24 = 45 litres), or
2. Komoda 4ft bookshelf (120cmx30x30 = 110 litres)

I will possibly partition either tanks into 2, with flow of water in between the 2 partitions. Reckon I should partition?

Which would you recommend? Also, any suggestion on where I can get acrylic and tips on getting holes drilled and attaching those SS mesh?

[Species]
Thinking of having Crystal Red Shrimps in 1 partition and Crystal Black Shrimps in the other. If I could have other shrimps in there that share similar water parameters but don't interbreed with the CRS and CBS, that would be awesome - any suggestions?

[Substrate]
Benibachi Black Soil is ok?

[Filter]
Ahem 2213 or 2217 I think? Maybe just 1 unit? Is that enough? Or 1 unit or each partition?
Might need intake protection.

[Heater]
Don't know yet. A good one?

[Plants]
I'd like a Iwagumi style tank with mosses for the shrimps to play with. 
Baby tears?
Mosses like java etc

Suggestions?

[Hardscape]
No idea. Apparently stones might change water parameters. Recommendations?

[Lights]
Up Aqua Pro Z 

[RO unit]
Still have no idea what that is or how it works or where to get one- will google.

[Other equipment]
Mesh net 
TDS meter
GH/KH kit? I have API testing kit.
Chiller?

[Other issues]
Tank cycling/DSM vs WSM or something.
Sourcing shrimps & plants

What do you reckon?

jayc
On 08/12/2015 at 11:52 AM, Getafix said:

What do you reckon?

[Tank]

Both are nice aquariums. 

If I was to pick one for partitioning, it would be the Komoda. 

Sorry, can't help you with the acrylic. Only place I know of is Bunnings.

[Species]