hot water refill... disaster

Le0DaVinci

Hi, i'm new to the hobby and I managed to keep alive and happy the shrimps for a couple of months.

The other day I refilled the tank directly from the tab and accidentally used the hot water tab. The water wasn't really hot or anything, never the less, in just minutes my 5 tangerine tigers started dying (cherry in the same tank were uneffected)

I did some reading and it's apparently due to chemicals that are in the hot water tap.. So i bought PRIME from Seachem and did a water change using PRIME.

The tigers left (2) seemed ok and I thought I had managed to eliminate the chemicals from the water, but this morning I found them dead.

As this sort of chemicals are not picked up by the ph, gh tests, how can I be sure that the water is now Ok to introduce new tigers?

I thought about a massive change of water but I have cherry shrimp in there so I don't want to upset them too much 

Thanks

Do water changes over several days, test, if stable then put stock in. I wouldnt be any stock in until then.

dont hold me to this but it would be the stuff the water passed through the heating elements and the heat shock the shrimp received that killed them.

slow refills are always good refills and tap water can be very unpredictable hot or cold. ro water is the only way to be sure there isn’t going to be any nasties in the water. its a clean slate to build your own water parameters and only add what you want in to your system. 

But as far as getting whatever might have affected the tigers out I guess activated carbon would be the easiest way, chuck some in your filter for a while it should absorb the bad stuff

Hi, i'm new to the hobby and I managed to keep alive and happy the shrimps for a couple of months.